Apple Mac mini M4 (2024)

AppleMini PC reference

Apple Mac mini M4 (2024)

Apple Mac mini M4 (2024) is a compact macOS desktop with Apple M4 (10-core CPU) and Apple M4 (10-core GPU). Its media engine and Thunderbolt ports make it useful for a small editing or development desk. Choose memory at purchase and verify macOS application support; benchmark results must match this chip and configuration.

Processor
Apple M4 (10-core CPU)
Graphics
Apple M4 (10-core GPU)
Memory
16 GB
Storage
256 GB
Configuration being compared16 GB RAM · 256 GB SSDNew
US stores · USD

Prices across stores

MiniPC.guru compares retailer listings. Purchases are completed on the retailer’s website.

View price history
RetailerAvailabilityListed priceLast checkedRetailer website
In stock$799View at MelroseMAC
Out of stock$1,099View at DataVision
Not confirmedSee at storeNo automatic checkView at Best Buy
No longer listed—View at CDW
Not confirmedSee at storeCheck failedView at Amazon

Availability reflects the latest store check. Shipping, tax, coupons and checkout totals are not included; confirm them at the store.

Specifications

Processor, graphics and installed memory/storage describe the selected configuration. Expansion limits and connectivity describe the model; optional hardware is identified separately. References are collected in About this data below.

Processor
Apple M4 (10-core CPU)
Graphics
Apple M4 (10-core GPU)
Memory
16 GB
Storage
256 GB
Ports & displays
3 × rear Thunderbolt 4, 2 × front USB-C 10Gbps, HDMI and 3.5 mm headphone jack. No USB-A port.
Ethernet, Wi-Fi & Bluetooth
Gigabit Ethernet; 10GbE is a purchase-time option and is not assumed installed. Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.3.
RAM & storage upgrades
Purchase-time unified-memory options: 16/24/32 GB. M-series memory cannot be upgraded after purchase. Apple lists SSD configurations up to 2 TB; external storage can use Thunderbolt or USB.
Power supply & power limits
Apple-rated maximum continuous power: 155 W; 100–240 V AC input. This is not measured everyday electricity use.
Dimensions & weight
127 × 127 × 50 mm (W × D × H).

Video

Plays on YouTube. Nothing is loaded from YouTube until you press play. YouTube

What owners say

Reviewers agree on the shape of this machine and disagree about what to blame for its storage. The fan never actually stops: it idles at 1,000 rpm, where it cannot be heard, stays around 25 dB(A) through games, and only under a full stress load reaches 45 dB(A), where it is clearly louder than the M2 it replaces. The surprise is where the heat goes. The case stays near 30 °C while the chip inside runs at 102 °C and holds there, which Apple evidently considers normal. The 256 GB drive moves 2 to 3 GB/s, and owners blame the capacity, on the theory that a small drive has too few memory chips to work in parallel. One reviewer then measured a 1 TB M4 iMac at the same speed, which points the finger at the processor instead. The memory upsell has been tested and comes up empty: a Mac hosting company compiled the same project on a 16 GB unit and a 24 GB unit and the gap was 0.19 seconds. The power button is still underneath, although macOS 26.5 finally added a setting that starts the machine whenever power is connected.

For whom
A small, quiet desktop for everyday work, video and light gaming, paired with an external Thunderbolt drive instead of Apple's storage prices.
Not for
Sustained heavy loads, where it becomes clearly audible, and anyone expecting the internal SSD to be fast or the memory upgrade to buy speed.

Our own summary of 5 published sources, reviewed Sep 17, 2026. We have not tested this Mini PC ourselves; the sources are listed under About this data.

Performance

1 sourced resultFPS

A fixed game, build, benchmark scene, graphics preset and upscaling setting must be specified before publishing results.

Externally reported measurements. MiniPC.guru has not independently reproduced these tests.

30.1 FPSIndependent review

Apple Mac Mini M4 review: smaller, faster and louder

By Andreas Osthoff · Notebookcheck

Source published
Nov 16, 2024
Test performed
Not reported by source
Added to MiniPC.guru
Sep 17, 2026
Source reviewed
Sep 17, 2026
Tested hardware
Apple M4, 10 cores: four performance cores at 4.5 GHz and six efficiency cores at 2.9 GHz, 21.5 W sustained · Apple M4 10-core GPU, 18 W · 16 GB LPDDR5X-7500, onboard · Apple SSD AP0256Z, 256 GB, the drive shipped with the unit, 214 GB free
Software / version / OS
Baldur's Gate 3, running natively on macOS; Notebookcheck states it is the only title in its suite that is not emulated on this machine · not reported by source: Notebookcheck does not print the game build · Apple macOS 15 Sequoia
Power profile
factory settings; the M4 exposes no selectable power mode, because High Power Mode is offered only on the M4 Pro (Macworld, 6 November 2024)
Test conditions
1920x1080, Ultra preset, TAA, no upscaling: Notebookcheck's 1080p rows use neither DLSS nor FSR and it lists 2160p Ultra with Quality DLSS separately. Scene: the opening escape from the nautiloid, walking the character along a fixed route and recording for roughly 25 seconds, as documented in Notebookcheck's Baldur's Gate 3 methodology at https://www.notebookcheck.net/Baldur-s-Gate-3-tech-review-Laptop-and-desktop-benchmarks.739444.0.html. That article describes the Windows runs; Notebookcheck does not name the capture tool it used on macOS

Editorial review checks the source and documentation; it does not certify the measurement or mean we tested the device ourselves.

Price history

Apple Mac mini M4 (2024) · 16 GB RAM · 256 GB SSD

Loading checks…

New condition · US stores · USD · Selected configuration only. Prices exclude shipping and tax. Each price stays on the chart until that listing's next check, for at most 36 hours, the same window the store prices use. Out-of-stock, failed and missing checks leave gaps.

About this data7 references

Specs and any benchmark results come from the sources below. We haven't tested this Mini PC ourselves.

Notes

  • Configuration-matched performance, wall-power and acoustic results remain unverified.

Sources

  1. Apple Mac mini M4 (2024) — manufacturer specifications ↗
    • Manufacturer / specification source
    • Selected configuration
    • Ports & displays · Reviewed Sep 12, 2026
    • Ethernet, Wi-Fi & Bluetooth · Reviewed Sep 12, 2026
    • RAM & storage upgrades · Reviewed Sep 12, 2026
    • Power supply & power limits · Reviewed Sep 12, 2026
    • Dimensions & weight · Reviewed Sep 12, 2026
  2. Apple — Upgrade or install memory in your Mac mini ↗
    • RAM & storage upgrades · Reviewed Sep 12, 2026
  3. Apple Mac Mini M4 review: smaller, faster and louder ↗
    • External benchmark · Reviewed Sep 17, 2026
    • Owner review source · Reviewed Sep 17, 2026
  4. M4 Pro Mac mini review: remarkably small and incredibly powerful ↗
    • Owner review source · Reviewed Sep 17, 2026
  5. M4 Mac mini review: benchmarks across four configurations ↗
    • Owner review source · Reviewed Sep 17, 2026
  6. SSD speed vs size ↗
    • Owner review source · Reviewed Sep 17, 2026
  7. Mac mini power button fix arrives in a macOS Tahoe update ↗
    • Owner review source · Reviewed Sep 17, 2026